Frequently Asked Questions

1. What is Ifugao State University?

The historical development of IFSU is a chronicle of triumph amidst adversity from a community farm school transforming into a University.

IFSU started as a Nayon Settlement Farm School in 1920 and renamed as Ifugao Pilot Opportunity School of Agriculture (IPOSA) in 1959. In 1967, the high school department was established and subsequently renamed as Payon Bugan Pilot Opportunity School of Agriculture (PBPOSA). In 1972, it was elevated into Ifugao Agricultural and Technical College (IATC) offering secondary and tertiary/undergraduate programs. In 1982, it was further expanded into Ifugao State College of Agriculture and Forestry (ISCAF) offering various Baccalaureate and Master Courses.

The quest for University statehood started in 2003 with expansion of programs to other field in the baccalaureate and graduate studies. In 2007, ISCAF was declared as a Level III State College. Immediately thereafter, a bill for its conversion into a university was filed in the House of Representatives by then Cong. Solomon R. Chungalao.

On October 14, 2009, Republic Act No. 9720 was signed into law formally converting ISCAF into Ifugao State University with campuses in Lamut, Aguinaldo, Hapao, Lagawe, Potia and Tinoc.

Today, IFSU is the lone tertiary school in Ifugao. Through the years, IFSU increasingly developed its programs to conform with government educational standards and to meet the growing educational needs of the community.

IFSU is determined for recognition from the local as well as international arena for quality and relevant education.

Being a University within the communities of its indigenous peoples, IFSU recognizes the importance of integrating indigenous knowledge, systems and practices in its curricular programs. Thus, the preservation and conservation of Ifugao culture and traditions.

For more information about IFSU, click here.

2. What are the Admission Requirements for incoming freshmen and transfer students?

You may find the General Requirements for Incoming Freshmen and Transfer Students on this link.

Guidelines for the College Entrance Examination is also available on the website. To view the guidelines, click here.

3. What are the general requirements for the applicants for the Open Distance Education and Transnational Education?

Applicants for open distance education may view the requirements on the website. For more information, click here.

For inquiries and other related matters regarding Open Distance Education, you may send it to the official email of CODETE, [email protected] and you may also reach Dr. Jeng jeng Bolintao, the College Dean, through this number, 09361263811 and email address, [email protected]

4. What are the programs offered by IFSU

Ifugao State University offers, Undergraduate programs (Bachelor’s Degree Programs & Associate Degree Programs/Undergraduate Diploma Programs), Post-Graduate Diploma Program, Master’s Degree Programs and Doctorate Degree Programs. To view the full list of programs offered per campus, click here.

5. What is the tuition rate of IFSU?

IFSU implements FREE tuition, FREE Miscellaneous and FREE other school fees. This Free School Fees Program is exclusive for IFSU Undergraduate courses only. To learn more about the program, click here.

6. What scholarship programs and financial assistance are available to the students?

The IFSU - Scholarship and Financial Assistance Section is in close coordination with the Commission on Higher Education (CHED) for the implementation of RA 10931, otherwise known as Universal Access to Quality Tertiary Education Act (UAQTEA).

The Four Programs under RA 1093

A. Free Higher Education Eligible are students enrolled in their first undergraduate degree program subject to the corresponding admission and retention policies. Benefits are free tuition and free miscellaneous, and others school fees. Providers are State Universities and Colleges (SUCs) and CHED-recognized Local Universities and Colleges (LUCs)

B. Free Technical-Vocational Education and Training (Free TVET) Eligible are learners enrolled in their first post-secondary TESDA-registered TVET programs and learners who are not holding a National Certificate (NC) III or higher, except those enrolled in bundled programs. Benefits are free training and free other training-related expenses and including living allowance, assessment fee, and starter toolkit. Providers are State-run Technical-Vocational Institutions (STVIs)

C. Tertiary Education Subsidy (TES) Eligible are undergraduate students enrolled in SUCs, CHED-recognized LUCs, quality-assured private Higher Education Institutions (HEIs), and technical-vocational institutions (TVIs). (Subject to prioritization and availability of funds) Benefits are TES 1: Free tuition and other school fees for private HEIs, TES 2: Other educational expenses, and TES 3: Special expenses, if necessary. Providers are UniFAST and its implementing partners.

D. Student Loan Program (SLP) Eligible are undergraduate and graduate students enrolled in SUCs, CHED-recognized LUCs, quality-assured private Higher Education Institutions (HEIs), and technical-vocational institutions (TVIs). Benefit is Short Term Loan to cover expenses for pursuing either undergraduate programs (including medicine and law). Providers are UniFAST and its implementing partners.

To learn more about the programs, click here.

7. What are the upcoming activities of IFSU for the year 2020?

A list of the activities for the Fiscal Year is available on the website. To view the university calendar, click here.

For more information and updates, Like and Follow the following social media accounts of IFSU:

Facebook: [email protected]

Instagram: [email protected]

Twitter: [email protected]

Youtube: Ifugao State University

For more information on Ifugao State University, you may contact the:

Department of Communication, Public, and International Affairs (DCPIA)
2nd Floor, Administration Building, Ifugao State University, Nayon, Lamut, Ifugao
Email: [email protected]/[email protected]

Phone Number: 0956-203-5586

Facebook: [email protected]

Instagram: [email protected]

Twitter: [email protected]